22 March 2017 Front Matter: Volume 10048
This PDF file contains the front matter associated with SPIE Proceedings Volume 10048, including the Title Page, Copyright information, Table of Contents, and Conference Committee listing.

The papers included in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. The papers published in these proceedings reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from these proceedings:

Author(s), “Title of Paper,” in Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy XII, edited by Michael R. Hamblin, James D. Carroll, Praveen Arany, Proceedings of SPIE Vol. 10048 (SPIE, Bellingham, WA, 2017) Seven-digit Article CID Number.

ISSN: 1605-7422

ISSN: 2410-9045 (electronic)

ISBN: 9781510605374

ISBN: 9781510605381 (electronic)

Published by


P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA

Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time) ⋅ Fax +1 360 647 1445


Copyright © 2017, Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers.

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of copying fees. The Transactional Reporting Service base fee for this volume is $18.00 per article (or portion thereof), which should be paid directly to the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. Payment may also be made electronically through CCC Online at copyright.com. Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher. The CCC fee code is 1605 7422/17/$18.00.

Printed in the United States of America.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.


Paper Numbering: Proceedings of SPIE follow an e-First publication model, with papers published first online and then in print. Papers are published as they are submitted and meet publication criteria. A unique citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article at the time of the first publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online, print, and electronic versions of the publication. SPIE uses a seven-digit CID article numbering system in which:

  • The first five digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.

  • The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B … 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript. The complete citation is used on the first page, and an abbreviated version on subsequent pages.


Numbers in the index correspond to the last two digits of the seven-digit citation identifier (CID) article numbering system used in Proceedings of SPIE. The first five digits reflect the volume number. Base 36 numbering is employed for the last two digits and indicates the order of articles within the volume. Numbers start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B…0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

Adnan, Ather, 07

Bagnato, Vanderlei S., 0O

Bartels, Kenneth E., 0M

Botelho, Cláudia Manuela, 0R

Cangussú, Maria Cristina T., 08, 0N

Cyprien, Thomas P., 0J

de Carvalho, Fabiola B., 08, 0N

de Oliveira, Susana Carla P. S., 08, 0N, 0O

Duncan, Christine N., 07

Gendron, Denis J., 0K

Gomes, Andreia Castro, 0R

Gonçalves, Odete, 0R

Jones, Brett J. L., 0J

Juliano, Amy F., 07

Kamenoff, J., 09, 0P

Laakso, E-Liisa, 0J

Lee, B. K., 0I

Lee, S. J., 0I

Li, Ting, 0H

Lim, S., 0I

Liu, Hanli, 06

London, Wendy B., 07

Marques, Aparecida Maria C., 08, 0N, 0O

Marques, Rogério, 0R

Menage, Alexander R., 0K

Monteiro, Juliana S. de C., 0O

Neves-Petersen, Maria Teresa, 0R

Oliveira, Murilo X., 0J

Pan, Boan, 0H

Park, H. C., 0I

Piao, Daqing, 0M

Pinheiro, Antônio L. B., 08, 0N, 0O

Pires Santos, Gustavo M., 0O

Renno, Ana C. M., 0J

Sabapathy, Surendran, 0J

Soares, A. P., 0N

Soares, Luiz Guiherme P., 08, 0N

Soni, Sagar, 06

Sonis, Stephen T., 07

Sypniewski, Lara A., 0M

Tian, Fenghua, 06

Tier, Matthew R., 0J

Toma, Renata L., 0J

Treister, Nathaniel S., 07

Viruthachalam, Thiagarajan, 0R

Vorum, Henrik, 0R

Wallace, Cameron A., 0J

Wang, Pengbo, 0H

Wang, Xinlong, 06

Wu, Mei X., 0E

Yang, Jingke, 0E

Yaroslavsky, Anna N., 07

Zhang, Qi, 0E

Zhong, Fulin, 0H

Conference Committee

Symposium Chairs

  • James G. Fujimoto, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)

  • R. Rox Anderson, Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Massachusetts General Hospital (United States) and Harvard Medical School (United States)

Program Track Chair

  • Brian Jet-Fei Wong, Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic (United States)

Conference Chairs

  • Michael R. Hamblin, Wellman Center for Photomedicine (United States)

  • James D. Carroll, THOR Photomedicine Ltd. (United Kingdom)

  • Praveen Arany, University at Buffalo (United States)

Conference Program Committee

  • Heidi Abrahamse, University of Johannesburg (South Africa)

  • Tomas Hode, Immunophotonics, Inc. (United States)

  • Clark E. Tedford, LumiThera (United States)

  • Mei X. Wu, Harvard Medical School (United States) and Wellman Center for Photomedicine (United States)

Session Chairs

  • Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy I

  • James D. Carroll, THOR Photomedicine Ltd. (United Kingdom)

  • Michael R. Hamblin, Wellman Center for Photomedicine (United States)

  • Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy III

  • Praveen Arany, University at Buffalo (United States)

  • Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy IV

  • Mei X. Wu, Harvard Medical School (United States) and Wellman Center for Photomedicine (United States)

© (2017) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
} "Front Matter: Volume 10048", Proc. SPIE 10048, Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy XII, 1004801 (22 March 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2269861; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2269861

Back to Top