31 July 2018 The ATHENA X-ray Integral Field Unit (X-IFU)
Didier Barret, Thien Lam Trong, Jan-Willem den Herder, Luigi Piro, Massimo Cappi, Juhani Houvelin, Richard Kelley, J. Miguel Mas-Hesse, Kazuhisa Mitsuda, Stéphane Paltani, Gregor Rauw, Agata Rozanska, Joern Wilms, Simon Bandler, Marco Barbera, Xavier Barcons, Enrico Bozzo, Maria Teresa Ceballos, Ivan Charles, Elisa Costantini, Anne Decourchelle, Roland den Hartog, Lionel Duband, Jean-Marc Duval, Fabrizio Fiore, Flavio Gatti, Andrea Goldwurm, Brian Jackson, Peter Jonker, Caroline Kilbourne, Claudio Macculi, Mariano Mendez, Silvano Molendi, Piotr Orleanski, François Pajot, Etienne Pointecouteau, Frederick Porter, Gabriel W. Pratt, Damien Prêle, Laurent Ravera, Kosuke Sato, Joop Schaye, Keisuke Shinozaki, Tanguy Thibert, Luca Valenziano, Véronique Valette, Jacco Vink, Natalie Webb, Michael Wise, Noriko Yamasaki, Françoise Douchin, Jean-Michel Mesnager, Bernard Pontet, Alice Pradines, Graziella Branduardi-Raymont, Esra Bulbul, Mauro Dadina, Stefano Ettori, Alexis Finoguenov, Yasushi Fukazawa, Agnieszka Janiuk, Jelle Kaastra, Pasquale Mazzotta, Jon Miller, Giovanni Miniutti, Yael Naze, Fabrizio Nicastro, Salavtore Scioritino, Aurora Simonescu, Jose Miguel Torrejon, Benoit Frezouls, Hervé Geoffray, Philippe Peille, Corinne Aicardi, Jérôme André, Christophe Daniel, Antoine Clénet, Christophe Etcheverry, Emilie Gloaguen, Gilles Hervet, Antoine Jolly, Aurélien Ledot, Irwin Paillet, Roseline Schmisser, Bruno Vella, Jean-Charles Damery, Kevin Boyce, Mike Dipirro, Simone Lotti, Denis Schwander, Stephen Smith, Bert-Joost Van Leeuwen, Henk van Weers, Nicolas Clerc, Beatriz Cobo, Thomas Dauser, Christian Kirsch, Edoardo Cucchetti, Megan Eckart, Philippe Ferrando, Lorenzo Natalucci
Author Affiliations +
The X-ray Integral Field Unit (X-IFU) is the high resolution X-ray spectrometer of the ESA Athena X-ray observatory. Over a field of view of 5’ equivalent diameter, it will deliver X-ray spectra from 0.2 to 12 keV with a spectral resolution of 2.5 eV up to 7 keV on ∼ 5” pixels. The X-IFU is based on a large format array of super-conducting molybdenum-gold Transition Edge Sensors cooled at ∼ 90 mK, each coupled with an absorber made of gold and bismuth with a pitch of 249 μm. A cryogenic anti-coincidence detector located underneath the prime TES array enables the non X-ray background to be reduced. A bath temperature of ∼ 50 mK is obtained by a series of mechanical coolers combining 15K Pulse Tubes, 4K and 2K Joule-Thomson coolers which pre-cool a sub Kelvin cooler made of a 3He sorption cooler coupled with an Adiabatic Demagnetization Refrigerator. Frequency domain multiplexing enables to read out 40 pixels in one single channel. A photon interacting with an absorber leads to a current pulse, amplified by the readout electronics and whose shape is reconstructed on board to recover its energy with high accuracy. The defocusing capability offered by the Athena movable mirror assembly enables the X-IFU to observe the brightest X-ray sources of the sky (up to Crab-like intensities) by spreading the telescope point spread function over hundreds of pixels. Thus the X-IFU delivers low pile-up, high throughput (< 50%), and typically 10 eV spectral resolution at 1 Crab intensities, i.e. a factor of 10 or more better than Silicon based X-ray detectors. In this paper, the current X-IFU baseline is presented, together with an assessment of its anticipated performance in terms of spectral resolution, background, and count rate capability. The X-IFU baseline configuration will be subject to a preliminary requirement review that is scheduled at the end of 2018.
Conference Presentation
© (2018) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
Didier Barret, Didier Barret, Thien Lam Trong, Thien Lam Trong, Jan-Willem den Herder, Jan-Willem den Herder, Luigi Piro, Luigi Piro, Massimo Cappi, Massimo Cappi, Juhani Houvelin, Juhani Houvelin, Richard Kelley, Richard Kelley, J. Miguel Mas-Hesse, J. Miguel Mas-Hesse, Kazuhisa Mitsuda, Kazuhisa Mitsuda, Stéphane Paltani, Stéphane Paltani, Gregor Rauw, Gregor Rauw, Agata Rozanska, Agata Rozanska, Joern Wilms, Joern Wilms, Simon Bandler, Simon Bandler, Marco Barbera, Marco Barbera, Xavier Barcons, Xavier Barcons, Enrico Bozzo, Enrico Bozzo, Maria Teresa Ceballos, Maria Teresa Ceballos, Ivan Charles, Ivan Charles, Elisa Costantini, Elisa Costantini, Anne Decourchelle, Anne Decourchelle, Roland den Hartog, Roland den Hartog, Lionel Duband, Lionel Duband, Jean-Marc Duval, Jean-Marc Duval, Fabrizio Fiore, Fabrizio Fiore, Flavio Gatti, Flavio Gatti, Andrea Goldwurm, Andrea Goldwurm, Brian Jackson, Brian Jackson, Peter Jonker, Peter Jonker, Caroline Kilbourne, Caroline Kilbourne, Claudio Macculi, Claudio Macculi, Mariano Mendez, Mariano Mendez, Silvano Molendi, Silvano Molendi, Piotr Orleanski, Piotr Orleanski, François Pajot, François Pajot, Etienne Pointecouteau, Etienne Pointecouteau, Frederick Porter, Frederick Porter, Gabriel W. Pratt, Gabriel W. Pratt, Damien Prêle, Damien Prêle, Laurent Ravera, Laurent Ravera, Kosuke Sato, Kosuke Sato, Joop Schaye, Joop Schaye, Keisuke Shinozaki, Keisuke Shinozaki, Tanguy Thibert, Tanguy Thibert, Luca Valenziano, Luca Valenziano, Véronique Valette, Véronique Valette, Jacco Vink, Jacco Vink, Natalie Webb, Natalie Webb, Michael Wise, Michael Wise, Noriko Yamasaki, Noriko Yamasaki, Françoise Douchin, Françoise Douchin, Jean-Michel Mesnager, Jean-Michel Mesnager, Bernard Pontet, Bernard Pontet, Alice Pradines, Alice Pradines, Graziella Branduardi-Raymont, Graziella Branduardi-Raymont, Esra Bulbul, Esra Bulbul, Mauro Dadina, Mauro Dadina, Stefano Ettori, Stefano Ettori, Alexis Finoguenov, Alexis Finoguenov, Yasushi Fukazawa, Yasushi Fukazawa, Agnieszka Janiuk, Agnieszka Janiuk, Jelle Kaastra, Jelle Kaastra, Pasquale Mazzotta, Pasquale Mazzotta, Jon Miller, Jon Miller, Giovanni Miniutti, Giovanni Miniutti, Yael Naze, Yael Naze, Fabrizio Nicastro, Fabrizio Nicastro, Salavtore Scioritino, Salavtore Scioritino, Aurora Simonescu, Aurora Simonescu, Jose Miguel Torrejon, Jose Miguel Torrejon, Benoit Frezouls, Benoit Frezouls, Hervé Geoffray, Hervé Geoffray, Philippe Peille, Philippe Peille, Corinne Aicardi, Corinne Aicardi, Jérôme André, Jérôme André, Christophe Daniel, Christophe Daniel, Antoine Clénet, Antoine Clénet, Christophe Etcheverry, Christophe Etcheverry, Emilie Gloaguen, Emilie Gloaguen, Gilles Hervet, Gilles Hervet, Antoine Jolly, Antoine Jolly, Aurélien Ledot, Aurélien Ledot, Irwin Paillet, Irwin Paillet, Roseline Schmisser, Roseline Schmisser, Bruno Vella, Bruno Vella, Jean-Charles Damery, Jean-Charles Damery, Kevin Boyce, Kevin Boyce, Mike Dipirro, Mike Dipirro, Simone Lotti, Simone Lotti, Denis Schwander, Denis Schwander, Stephen Smith, Stephen Smith, Bert-Joost Van Leeuwen, Bert-Joost Van Leeuwen, Henk van Weers, Henk van Weers, Nicolas Clerc, Nicolas Clerc, Beatriz Cobo, Beatriz Cobo, Thomas Dauser, Thomas Dauser, Christian Kirsch, Christian Kirsch, Edoardo Cucchetti, Edoardo Cucchetti, Megan Eckart, Megan Eckart, Philippe Ferrando, Philippe Ferrando, Lorenzo Natalucci, Lorenzo Natalucci, } "The ATHENA X-ray Integral Field Unit (X-IFU)", Proc. SPIE 10699, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray, 106991G (31 July 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2312409; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2312409


Back to Top