9 July 2018 Simons Observatory large aperture telescope receiver design overview
Author Affiliations +
The Simons Observatory (SO) will make precision temperature and polarization measurements of the cosmic microwave background (CMB) using a series of telescopes which will cover angular scales between one arcminute and tens of degrees and sample frequencies between 27 and 270 GHz. Here we present the current design of the large aperture telescope receiver (LATR), a 2.4m diameter cryostat that will be mounted on the SO 6m telescope and will be the largest CMB receiver to date. The cryostat size was chosen to take advantage of the large focal plane area having high Strehl ratios, which is inherent to the Cross-Dragone telescope design. The LATR will be able to accommodate thirteen optics tubes, each having a 36 cm diameter aperture and illuminating several thousand transition-edge sensor (TES) bolometers. This set of equipment will provide an opportunity to make measurements with unparalleled sensitivity. However, the size and complexity of the LATR also pose numerous technical challenges. In the following paper, we present the design of the LATR and include how we address these challenges. The solutions we develop in the process of designing the LATR will be informative for the general CMB community, and for future CMB experiments like CMB-S4.
© (2018) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
Ningfeng Zhu, Ningfeng Zhu, John L. Orlowski-Scherer, John L. Orlowski-Scherer, Zhilei Xu, Zhilei Xu, Aamir Ali, Aamir Ali, Kam S. Arnold, Kam S. Arnold, Peter C. Ashton, Peter C. Ashton, Gabriele Coppi, Gabriele Coppi, Mark J. Devlin, Mark J. Devlin, Simon Dicker, Simon Dicker, Nicholas Galitzki, Nicholas Galitzki, Patricio A. Gallardo, Patricio A. Gallardo, Shawn W. Henderson, Shawn W. Henderson, Shuay-Pwu Patty Ho, Shuay-Pwu Patty Ho, Johannes Hubmayr, Johannes Hubmayr, Brian Keating, Brian Keating, Adrian T. Lee, Adrian T. Lee, Michele Limon, Michele Limon, Marius Lungu, Marius Lungu, Philip D. Mauskopf, Philip D. Mauskopf, Andrew J. May, Andrew J. May, Jeff McMahon, Jeff McMahon, Michael D. Niemack, Michael D. Niemack, Lucio Piccirillo, Lucio Piccirillo, Giuseppe Puglisi, Giuseppe Puglisi, Mayuri Sathyanarayana Rao, Mayuri Sathyanarayana Rao, Maria Salatino, Maria Salatino, Max Silva-Feaver, Max Silva-Feaver, Sara M. Simon, Sara M. Simon, Suzanne Staggs, Suzanne Staggs, Robert Thornton, Robert Thornton, Joel N. Ullom, Joel N. Ullom, Eve M. Vavagiakis, Eve M. Vavagiakis, Benjamin Westbrook, Benjamin Westbrook, Edward J. Wollack, Edward J. Wollack, } "Simons Observatory large aperture telescope receiver design overview", Proc. SPIE 10708, Millimeter, Submillimeter, and Far-Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation for Astronomy IX, 1070829 (9 July 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2312871; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2312871


Back to Top