9 October 1997 New photorefractive polymers for real-time holography
Author Affiliations +
We investigated polymeric materials based on polysiloxane (PSX), polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), polyurethane (PU), as well as a triphenylamin-based glass (DRDCTA) with respect to their photorefractive properties. Electric-field dependencies of the two-beam coupling gain, diffraction efficiencies, refractive index amplitudes and holographic rise-times could be obtained by means of two-wave mixing and degenerate four-wave mixing measurements. The examined PSX polymer systems were composed of a photoconducting polysiloxane host doped with trinitrofluorenone (TNF) as a sensitizing moiety and various chromophores, namely, an azo derivative, a stilben derivative and a tolan derivative. Due to their comparatively low glass-transition temperatures Tg, an orientational enhancement of the photorefractive properties was observed. Furthermore, the influence of photoisomerisation (based on trans-cis-trans cycles) on the holographical properties could be determined for the different chromophores. In addition, a class of fully functionalized polymers with azo chromophores and carbazole-units covalently attached to PMMA- and PU-backbones was synthesized. These systems show comparatively high glass transition temperatures of more than 80 degrees C. The third type of materials investigated is a glass of triphenylamin with attached carbazole and NLO-chromophore moieties. It has a glass transition temperature of 120 degrees C. For the high-Tg materials, poling procedures--essential for the photorefractive properties--could be monitored in-situ by second-harmonic generation. Absolute values for the nonlinear Pockets coefficients χ(2) (-ω; ω, 0) have been obtained by electro-optical measurements.
© (1997) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
Stefan Schloter, Stefan Schloter, Uwe Hofmann, Uwe Hofmann, Rainer Hagen, Rainer Hagen, Christoph Hohle, Christoph Hohle, Kai Ewert, Kai Ewert, Peter Strohriegl, Peter Strohriegl, C.-D. Eisenbach, C.-D. Eisenbach, Hans-Werner Schmidt, Hans-Werner Schmidt, Dietrich Haarer, Dietrich Haarer, } "New photorefractive polymers for real-time holography", Proc. SPIE 3144, Xerographic Photoreceptors and Organic Photorefractive Materials II, (9 October 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.290234; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.290234

Back to Top