19 October 1998 Fast fractal image compression with triangulation wavelets
Author Affiliations +
Abstract
We address the problem of improving the performance of wavelet based fractal image compression by applying efficient triangulation methods. We construct iterative function systems (IFS) in the tradition of Barnsley and Jacquin, using non-uniform triangular range and domain blocks instead of uniform rectangular ones. We search for matching domain blocks in the manner of Zhang and Chen, performing a fast wavelet transform on the blocks and eliminating low resolution mismatches to gain speed. We obtain further improvements by the efficiencies of binary triangulations (including the elimination of affine and symmetry calculations and reduced parameter storage), and by pruning the binary tree before construction of the IFS. Our wavelets are triangular Haar wavelets and `second generation' interpolation wavelets as suggested by Sweldens' recent work.
© (1998) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
D. J. Hebert, D. J. Hebert, Ezekiel Soundararajan, Ezekiel Soundararajan, } "Fast fractal image compression with triangulation wavelets", Proc. SPIE 3458, Wavelet Applications in Signal and Imaging Processing VI, (19 October 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.328132; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.328132
PROCEEDINGS
10 PAGES


SHARE
Back to Top