30 January 2004 SNAP telescope: an update
Author Affiliations +
We present the baseline telescope design for the telescope for the SuperNova/Acceleration Probe (SNAP) space mission. SNAP’s purpose is to determine expansion history of the Universe by measuring the redshifts, magnitudes, and spectral classifications of thousands of supernovae with unprecedented accuracy. Discovering and measuring these supernovae demand both a wide optical field and a high sensitivity throughout the visible and near IR wavebands. We have adopted the annular-field three-mirror anastigmat (TMA) telescope configuration, whose classical aberrations (including chromatic) are zero. We show a preliminary optmechanical design that includes important features for stray light control and on-orbit adjustment and alignment of the optics. We briefly discuss stray light and tolerance issues, and present a preliminary wavefront error budget for the SNAP Telescope. We conclude by describing some of the design tasks being carried out during the current SNAP research and development phase.
© (2004) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
Michael L. Lampton, Michael L. Lampton, Michael J. Sholl, Michael J. Sholl, Michael H. Krim, Michael H. Krim, R. Besuner, R. Besuner, Carl W. Akerlof, Carl W. Akerlof, Greg Aldering, Greg Aldering, R. Amanullah, R. Amanullah, Pierre Astier, Pierre Astier, Charles Baltay, Charles Baltay, E. Barrelet, E. Barrelet, Stephane Basa, Stephane Basa, Christopher Bebek, Christopher Bebek, John Bercovitz, John Bercovitz, Lars Bergstrom, Lars Bergstrom, Gary Berstein, Gary Berstein, Manfred Bester, Manfred Bester, Ralph C. Bohlin, Ralph C. Bohlin, Alain Bonissent, Alain Bonissent, Charles R. Bower, Charles R. Bower, Myron Campbell, Myron Campbell, William C. Carithers, William C. Carithers, Eugene D. Commins, Eugene D. Commins, C. Day, C. Day, Susana E. Deustua, Susana E. Deustua, Richard S. DiGennaro, Richard S. DiGennaro, Anne Ealet, Anne Ealet, Richard S. Ellis, Richard S. Ellis, William Emmett, William Emmett, Mikael Eriksson, Mikael Eriksson, D. Fouchez, D. Fouchez, Andrew Fruchter, Andrew Fruchter, Jean-Francois Genat, Jean-Francois Genat, Gerson Goldhaber, Gerson Goldhaber, Ariel Goobar, Ariel Goobar, Donald E. Groom, Donald E. Groom, Henry D. Heetderks, Henry D. Heetderks, Stephen E. Holland, Stephen E. Holland, Dragan Huterer, Dragan Huterer, William E. Johnston, William E. Johnston, Richard W. Kadel, Richard W. Kadel, Armin Karcher, Armin Karcher, Alex G. Kim, Alex G. Kim, William F. Kolbe, William F. Kolbe, Robin E. Lafever, Robin E. Lafever, J. I. Lamoureux, J. I. Lamoureux, Oliver LeFevre, Oliver LeFevre, Michael E. Levi, Michael E. Levi, Daniel S. Levin, Daniel S. Levin, Eric V. Linder, Eric V. Linder, Stewart C. Loken, Stewart C. Loken, Roger Malina, Roger Malina, Alain Mazure, Alain Mazure, Timothy A. McKay, Timothy A. McKay, Shawn P. McKee, Shawn P. McKee, Ramon Miquel, Ramon Miquel, Nicholas Morgan, Nicholas Morgan, E. Mortsell, E. Mortsell, Nick Mostek, Nick Mostek, Stuart Mufson, Stuart Mufson, J. A. Musser, J. A. Musser, Peter E. Nugent, Peter E. Nugent, Hakeem M. Oluseyi, Hakeem M. Oluseyi, Reynald Pain, Reynald Pain, Nick P. Palaio, Nick P. Palaio, David H. Pankow, David H. Pankow, Saul Perlmutter, Saul Perlmutter, Eric Prieto, Eric Prieto, David Rabinowitz, David Rabinowitz, Alexandre Refregier, Alexandre Refregier, Jason Rhodes, Jason Rhodes, Natalie A. Roe, Natalie A. Roe, Michael S. Schubnell, Michael S. Schubnell, G. Smadja, G. Smadja, R. Smith, R. Smith, George F. Smoot, George F. Smoot, Jeffrey A. Snyder, Jeffrey A. Snyder, Anthony Spadafora, Anthony Spadafora, Andrew Szymkowiak, Andrew Szymkowiak, Gregory Tarle, Gregory Tarle, Keith Taylor, Keith Taylor, A. Tilquin, A. Tilquin, Andrew D. Tomasch, Andrew D. Tomasch, D. Vincent, D. Vincent, Henrik von der Lippe, Henrik von der Lippe, Jean-Pierre Walder, Jean-Pierre Walder, Guobin Wang, Guobin Wang, } "SNAP telescope: an update", Proc. SPIE 5166, UV/Optical/IR Space Telescopes: Innovative Technologies and Concepts, (30 January 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.502333; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.502333


The Dittoscope
Proceedings of SPIE (January 29 2003)
SNAP Telescope
Proceedings of SPIE (December 17 2002)
Wavefront control of large optical systems
Proceedings of SPIE (July 31 1990)

Back to Top