20 December 2006 MEMS microshutter arrays for James Webb Space Telescope
Author Affiliations +
MEMS microshutter arrays (MSAs) are being developed at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center for use as an aperture array for the Near-Infrared Spectrometer (NirSpec). The instruments will be carried on the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST), the next generation of space telescope after Hubble Space Telescope retires. The microshutter arrays are designed for the selective transmission of light with high efficiency and high contrast. Arrays are close-packed silicon nitride membranes with a pixel size of 105x204 μm. Individual shutters are patterned with a torsion flexure permitting shutters to open 90 degrees with a minimized mechanical stress concentration. Light shields are made on each shutter for light leak prevention to enhance optical contrast. Shutters are actuated magnetically, latched and addressed electrostatically. The shutter arrays are fabricated using MEMS technologies. Single-side indium flip chip bonding is performed to attach microshutter arrays to substrates.
© (2006) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
Mary J. Li, Mary J. Li, Tomoko Adachi, Tomoko Adachi, Christine Allen, Christine Allen, Sachi Babu, Sachi Babu, Sateesh Bajikar, Sateesh Bajikar, Michael Beamesderfer, Michael Beamesderfer, Ruth Bradley, Ruth Bradley, Kevin Denis, Kevin Denis, Nick Costen, Nick Costen, Audrey Ewin, Audrey Ewin, David Franz, David Franz, Larry Hess, Larry Hess, Ron Hu, Ron Hu, Kamili M. Jackson, Kamili M. Jackson, Murzy Jhabvala, Murzy Jhabvala, Dan Kelly, Dan Kelly, Todd King, Todd King, Gunther Kletetschka, Gunther Kletetschka, Alexander Kutyrev, Alexander Kutyrev, Barney Lynch, Barney Lynch, Timothy Miller, Timothy Miller, Harvey Moseley, Harvey Moseley, Vilem Mikula, Vilem Mikula, Brent Mott, Brent Mott, Lance Oh, Lance Oh, James T. Pontius, James T. Pontius, David Rapchun, David Rapchun, Chris Ray, Chris Ray, Eric Schulte, Eric Schulte, Scott Schwinger, Scott Schwinger, Peter Shu, Peter Shu, Robert Silverberg, Robert Silverberg, Wayne Smith, Wayne Smith, Steve Snodgrass, Steve Snodgrass, David Sohl, David Sohl, Leroy Sparr, Leroy Sparr, Rosalind Steptoe-Jackson, Rosalind Steptoe-Jackson, Valeriano Veronica, Valeriano Veronica, Liqin Wang, Liqin Wang, Yun Zheng, Yun Zheng, Chris Zincke, Chris Zincke, } "MEMS microshutter arrays for James Webb Space Telescope", Proc. SPIE 6415, Micro- and Nanotechnology: Materials, Processes, Packaging, and Systems III, 64150B (20 December 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.706308; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.706308


Back to Top