Translator Disclaimer
8 May 2007 Nonparaxial evolution of femtosecond optical pulses.
Author Affiliations +
We investigate numerically the self-focusing dynamics of femtosecond pulses in the frame of new non-paraxial amplitude equations. We find that the nonlinear regime strongly depends on the initial form of the pulses. In the case of pulse with small transverse and large longitudinal size (long pulse), the dynamics is closer to the nonlinear paraxial dynamics of a laser beam, and the difference is in the large spectral and longitudinal spatial modulation of the long pulse. We show also that non-paraxiality plays an important role on the evolution of light bullets and light disks. In regime of light bullets we observe weak self-focusing without pedestals for input power P valued from the critical power for collapse Pcr up to 16 Pcr. We find also nonlinear non-collapsed regime of propagation of light disks (pulses with small longitudinal and large transverse size), when the input power exceeds the critical power for collapse Pcr. Our results are in good agreement with the recent experiments on nonlinear propagation of femtosecond pulses. We have demonstrated for the first time that a non-paraxial model can explain such effects as spectral broadening, collapse arrest and nonlinear wave guide behavior of ultrashort optical pulses in nonlinear regime near to critical power for self-focusing.
© (2007) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
L. M. Kovachev "Nonparaxial evolution of femtosecond optical pulses.", Proc. SPIE 6582, Nonlinear Optics and Applications II, 658208 (8 May 2007);


The effect of a waveguide on the formation of optical...
Proceedings of SPIE (April 30 2019)
Solitary nonlinear Bloch waves
Proceedings of SPIE (April 12 2001)
Observed reduced diffraction of focused femtosecond pulses
Proceedings of SPIE (December 19 2008)
Femtosecond pulses in air: linear and nonlinear regime
Proceedings of SPIE (November 11 2009)

Back to Top