Translator Disclaimer
Open Access Paper
28 March 2014 Front Matter: Volume 8980
This PDF file contains the front matter associated with SPIE Proceedings Volume 8980 including the Title Page, Copyright information, Table of Contents, Introduction, and Conference Committee listing.

The papers included in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. The papers published in these proceedings reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from this book:

Author(s), “Title of Paper,” in Physics and Simulation of Optoelectronic Devices XXII, edited by Bernd Witzigmann, Marek Osinski, Fritz Henneberger, Yasuhiko Arakawa, Proceedings of SPIE Vol. 8980 (SPIE, Bellingham, WA, 2014) Article CID Number.

ISSN: 0277-786X

ISBN: 9780819498939

Published by


P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA

Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time) · Fax +1 360 647 1445

Copyright © 2014, Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers.

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of copying fees. The Transactional Reporting Service base fee for this volume is $18.00 per article (or portion thereof), which should be paid directly to the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. Payment may also be made electronically through CCC Online at Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher. The CCC fee code is 0277-786X/14/$18.00.

Printed in the United States of America.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.


Paper Numbering: Proceedings of SPIE follow an e-First publication model, with papers published first online and then in print and on CD-ROM. Papers are published as they are submitted and meet publication criteria. A unique, consistent, permanent citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article at the time of the first publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online, print, and electronic versions of the publication. SPIE uses a six-digit CID article numbering system in which:

  • The first four digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.

  • The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B … 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript. The complete citation is used on the first page, and an abbreviated version on subsequent pages. Numbers in the index correspond to the last two digits of the six-digit CID Number.

Conference Committee

Symposium Chairs

  • David L. Andrews, University of East Anglia Norwich (United Kingdom)

  • Alexei L. Glebov, OptiGrate Corporation (United States)

Symposium Cochairs

  • Jean Emmanuel Broquin, IMEP-LAHC (France)

  • Shibin Jiang, AdValue Photonics, Inc. (United States)

Program Track Chair

  • James G. Grote, Air Force Research Laboratory (United States)

Conference Chairs

  • Bernd Witzigmann, Universität Kassel (Germany)

  • Marek Osinski, The University of New Mexico (United States)

  • Fritz Henneberger, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (Germany)

  • Yasuhiko Arakawa, The University of Tokyo (Japan)

Conference Program Committee

  • Hiroshi Amano, Nagoya University (Japan)

  • Toshihiko Baba, Yokohama National University (Japan)

  • Weng W. Chow, Sandia National Laboratories (United States)

  • Shun Lien Chuang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (United States)

  • Aldo Di Carlo, Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata (Italy)

  • Keiichi Edamatsu, Tohoku University (Japan)

  • Nicholas J. Ekins-Daukes, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)

  • Alexandre Freundlich, University of Houston (United States)

  • Ortwin Hess, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)

  • Stephan W. Koch, Philipps-Universität Marburg (Germany)

  • Vassillios I. Kovanis, Air Force Research Laboratory (United States)

  • Nikolay N. Ledentsov, VI Systems GmbH (Germany)

  • Cun-Zheng Ning, Arizona State University (United States)

  • Joachim Piprek, NUSOD Institute LLC (United States)

  • Ikuo Suemune, Hokkaido University (Japan)

Session Chairs

  • 1 Light Emitting Diodes

    Bernd Witzigmann, Universität Kassel (Germany)

  • 2 Electromagnetics I

    Thomas A. Klar, Johannes Kepler Universität Linz (Austria)

  • 3 Laser Dynamics

    Ikuo Suemune, Hokkaido University (Japan)

  • 4 Metal Nanocavities

    Geert Morthier, Universiteit Gent (Belgium)

  • 5 Nano Lasers

    Cun-Zheng Ning, Arizona State University (United States)

  • 6 Semiconductor-based Plasmonics

    Yasuhiko Arakawa, The University of Tokyo (Japan)

  • 7 III-Nitride-based Optoelectronics

    Fritz Henneberger, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (Germany)

  • 8 Semiconductor Lasers

    Nikolay N. Ledentsov, VI Systems GmbH (Germany)

  • 9 Plasmonics

    Friedhard Römer, Universität Kassel (Germany)

  • 10 Photovoltaics Modeling: Joint Session with Conferences 8980 and 8981

    Alexandre Freundlich, University of Houston (United States)

    Bernd Witzigmann, Universität Kassel (Germany)

  • 11 Laser Injection Locking

    Enrico Bellotti, Boston University (United States)

  • 12 Graphene Optoelectronics

    Hans Christian Schneider, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (Germany)

  • 13 Electromagnetics II

    Laurent Chusseau, Université Montpellier 2 (France)

  • 14 Quantum Dot Lasers

    Daan Lenstra, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (Netherlands)

© (2014) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
"Front Matter: Volume 8980", Proc. SPIE 8980, Physics and Simulation of Optoelectronic Devices XXII, 898001 (28 March 2014);

Back to Top