Translator Disclaimer
Open Access Paper
14 May 2014 Front Matter: Volume 9125
This PDF file contains the front matter associated with SPIE Proceedings Volume 9125, including the Title Page, Copyright information, Table of Contents, Introduction (if any), and Conference Committee listing.

The papers included in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. The papers published in these proceedings reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from this book:

Author(s), “Title of Paper,” in Metamaterials IX, edited by Allan D. Boardman, Nigel P. Johnson, Kevin F. MacDonald, Ekmel Özbay, Proceedings of SPIE Vol. 9125 (SPIE, Bellingham, WA, 2014) Article CID Number.

ISSN: 0277-786X

ISBN: 9781628410730

Published by


P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA

Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time)· Fax +1 360 647 1445

Copyright © 2014, Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers.

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of copying fees. The Transactional Reporting Service base fee for this volume is $18.00 per article (or portion thereof), which should be paid directly to the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. Payment may also be made electronically through CCC Online at Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher. The CCC fee code is 0277-786X/14/$18.00.

Printed in the United States of America.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.


Paper Numbering: Proceedings of SPIE follow an e-First publication model, with papers published first online and then in print and on CD-ROM. Papers are published as they are submitted and meet publication criteria. A unique, consistent, permanent citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article at the time of the first publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online, print, and electronic versions of the publication. SPIE uses a six-digit CID article numbering system in which:

  • The first four digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.

  • The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B … 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript. The complete citation is used on the first page, and an abbreviated version on subsequent pages. Numbers in the index correspond to the last two digits of the six-digit CID Number.

Conference Committee

Symposium Chairs

  • Francis Berghmans, Vrije University Brussel (Belgium)

  • Ronan Burgess, European Commission (Belgium)

  • Jürgen Popp, Institut für Photonische Technologien e.V. (Germany)

  • Peter Hartmann, SCHOTT AG (Germany)

Honorary Symposium Chair

  • Hugo Thienpont, Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Belgium)

Conference Chairs

  • Allan D. Boardman, University of Salford (United Kingdom)

  • Nigel P. Johnson, University of Glasgow (United Kingdom)

  • Kevin F. MacDonald, University of Southampton (United Kingdom)

  • Ekmel Özbay, Bilkent University (Turkey)

Conference Programme Committee

  • Javier Garcia de Abajo, ICFO - Institut de Ciències Fotòniques (Spain)

  • Antonello Andreone, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)

  • Sergey I. Bozhevolnyi, University of Southern Denmark (Denmark)

  • Mario Bertolotti, Università degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza (Italy)

  • Igal Brener, Sandia National Laboratories (United States)

  • Tie Jun Cui, Southeast University (China)

  • Jennifer A. Dionne, Stanford University (United States)

  • Ulf Leonhardt, University of St. Andrews (United Kingdom)

  • Willie J. Padilla, Boston College (United States)

  • Carsten Rockstuhl, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (Germany)

  • Tomasz Szoplik, University of Warsaw (Poland)

  • Sergei Tretyakov, Aalto University School of Science and Technology (Finland)

  • Giorgos P. Tsironis, University of Crete (Greece)

  • Dao Hua Zhang, Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)

  • Nikolay I. Zheludev, University of Southampton (United Kingdom)

  • Richard W. Ziolkowski, The University of Arizona (United States)

  • Said Zouhdi, Laboratoire de Génie Électrique de Paris (France)

Session Chairs

  • 1 Tunable and Active Metamaterials

    Allan D. Boardman, University of Salford (United Kingdom)

  • 2 Self-Assembled Metamaterials

    Nigel P. Johnson, University of Glasgow (United Kingdom)

  • 3 Dielectric Metamaterials

    Kevin F. MacDonald, University of Southampton (United Kingdom)

  • 4 Nano-Plasmonic Biosensors and Photodetectors

    Kevin F. MacDonald, University of Southampton (United Kingdom)

  • 5 Active Metamaterials and Special Effects

    Nigel P. Johnson, University of Glasgow (United Kingdom)

  • 6 Hyperbolic Metamaterials

    Allan D. Boardman, University of Salford (United Kingdom)

  • 7 Active and Nonlinear Plasmonics and Metamaterials

    Ekmel Özbay, Bilkent University (Turkey)

  • 8 THz Metamaterials

    Allan D. Boardman, University of Salford (United Kingdom)

  • 9 Nonlinear and Special Effects in Metamaterials

    Humeyra Caglayan, Abdullah Gül University (Turkey)

  • 10 Metamaterial Nanofabrication

    Humeyra Caglayan, Abdullah Gül University (Turkey)

  • 11 Polarisation Control and Transformation Optics

    Nigel P. Johnson, University of Glasgow (United Kingdom)


The ninth Metamaterials Conference hosted by SPIE in Europe enjoyed strong international audiences and fruitful discussions right through the end of the conference. During informal discussions with the session Chairs, we agreed that the quality of the presentations had increased from an already previously high threshold.

Active Metamaterials featured in three of the sessions with new sessions on Dielectric and Hyperbolic Metamaterials. Two sessions on fabrication included Nanofabrication and Self-Assembled Metamaterials. Sensors, Nonlinear Plasmonics and Metamaterials, Terahertz Metamaterials, Polarisation Control and Transformation Optics, completed the programme of nine sessions.

The venue, in the heart of Brussels, no doubt contributed to this very enjoyable conference. The Chairs of the meeting would like to thank all contributors to the conference, the SPIE team, and the programme committee.

Allan D. Boardman

Nigel P. Johnson

Kevin F. MacDonald

Ekmel Özbay

© (2014) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
"Front Matter: Volume 9125", Proc. SPIE 9125, Metamaterials IX, 912501 (14 May 2014);

Back to Top