21 July 2014 ESO adaptive optics facility progress and first laboratory test results
Author Affiliations +
The Adaptive Optics Facility project is completing the integration of its systems at ESO Headquarters in Garching. The main test bench ASSIST and the 2nd Generation M2-Unit (hosting the Deformable Secondary Mirror) have been granted acceptance late 2012. The DSM has undergone a series of tests on ASSIST in 2013 which have validated its optical performance and launched the System Test Phase of the AOF. This has been followed by the performance evaluation of the GRAAL natural guide star mode on-axis and will continue in 2014 with its Ground Layer AO mode. The GALACSI module (for MUSE) Wide-Field-Mode (GLAO) and the more challenging Narrow-Field-Mode (LTAO) will then be tested. The AOF has also taken delivery of the second scientific thin shell mirror and the first 22 Watt Sodium laser Unit. We will report on the system tests status, the performances evaluated on the ASSIST bench and advancement of the 4Laser Guide Star Facility. We will also present the near future plans for commissioning on the telescope and some considerations on tools to ensure an efficient operation of the Facility in Paranal.
© (2014) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
Robin Arsenault, Robin Arsenault, Pierre-Yves Madec, Pierre-Yves Madec, Jérome Paufique, Jérome Paufique, Paolo La Penna, Paolo La Penna, Stefan Stroebele, Stefan Stroebele, Elise Vernet, Elise Vernet, Jean-Francois Pirard, Jean-Francois Pirard, Wolfgang Hackenberg, Wolfgang Hackenberg, Harald Kuntschner, Harald Kuntschner, Johann Kolb, Johann Kolb, Nicolas Muller, Nicolas Muller, Aurea Garcia-Rissmann, Aurea Garcia-Rissmann, Miska Le Louarn, Miska Le Louarn, Paola Amico, Paola Amico, Norbert Hubin, Norbert Hubin, Jean-Louis Lizon, Jean-Louis Lizon, Rob Ridings, Rob Ridings, Pierre Haguenauer, Pierre Haguenauer, Jose A. Abad, Jose A. Abad, Gerhard Fischer, Gerhard Fischer, Volker Heinz, Volker Heinz, Mario Kiekebusch, Mario Kiekebusch, Javier Argomedo, Javier Argomedo, Ralf Conzelmann, Ralf Conzelmann, Sebastien Tordo, Sebastien Tordo, Rob Donaldson, Rob Donaldson, Christian Soenke, Christian Soenke, Philippe Duhoux, Philippe Duhoux, Enrico Fedrigo, Enrico Fedrigo, Bernard Delabre, Bernard Delabre, Andrea Jost, Andrea Jost, Michel Duchateau, Michel Duchateau, Mark Downing, Mark Downing, Javier Reyes Moreno, Javier Reyes Moreno, Antonio Manescau, Antonio Manescau, Domenico Bonaccini Calia, Domenico Bonaccini Calia, Marco Quattri, Marco Quattri, Christophe Dupuy, Christophe Dupuy, Ivan M. Guidolin, Ivan M. Guidolin, Mauro Comin, Mauro Comin, Ronald Guzman, Ronald Guzman, Bernard Buzzoni, Bernard Buzzoni, Jutta Quentin, Jutta Quentin, Steffan Lewis, Steffan Lewis, Paul Jolley, Paul Jolley, Max Kraus, Max Kraus, Thomas Pfrommer, Thomas Pfrommer, Roberto Biasi, Roberto Biasi, Daniele Gallieni, Daniele Gallieni, Remko Stuik, Remko Stuik, Wilhelm Kaenders, Wilhelm Kaenders, Bernhard Ernstberger, Bernhard Ernstberger, Axel Friedenauer, Axel Friedenauer, "ESO adaptive optics facility progress and first laboratory test results", Proc. SPIE 9148, Adaptive Optics Systems IV, 914802 (21 July 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2054859; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2054859


Back to Top