This PDF file contains the front matter associated with SPIE Proceedings Volume 9647, including the Title Page, Copyright information, Table of Contents, Invited Panel Discussion, and Conference Committee listing.

The papers in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. Additional papers and presentation recordings may be available online in the SPIE Digital Library at SPIEDigitalLibrary.org.

The papers reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from these proceedings:

Author(s), "Title of Paper," in Unmanned/Unattended Sensors and Sensor Networks XI; and Advanced Free-Space Optical Communication Techniques and Applications, edited by Edward M. Carapezza, Panos G. Datskos, Christos Tsamis, Leslie Laycock, Henry J. White, Proceedings of SPIE Vol. 9647 (SPIE, Bellingham, WA, 2015) Six-digit Article CID Number.

ISSN: 0277-786X

ISSN: 1996-756X (electronic)

ISBN: 9781628418576

Published by


P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA

Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time) · Fax +1 360 647 1445


Copyright © 2015, Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers.

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of copying fees. The Transactional Reporting Service base fee for this volume is $18.00 per article (or portion thereof), which should be paid directly to the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. Payment may also be made electronically through CCC Online at copyright.com. Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher. The CCC fee code is 0277-786X/15/$18.00.

Printed in the United States of America.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.


Paper Numbering: Proceedings of SPIE follow an e-First publication model, with papers published first online and then in print. Papers are published as they are submitted and meet publication criteria. A unique citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article at the time of the first publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online, print, and electronic versions of the publication. SPIE uses a six-digit CID article numbering system in which:

  • The first four digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.

  • The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B … 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript. The complete citation is used on the first page, and an abbreviated version on subsequent pages.


Numbers in the index correspond to the last two digits of the six-digit citation identifier (CID) article numbering system used in Proceedings of SPIE. The first four digits reflect the volume number. Base 36 numbering is employed for the last two digits and indicates the order of articles within the volume. Numbers start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B…0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

Abergel, J., 0N

Artaud, G., 0K

Asmolova, Olga, 08

Auckloo, A., 0O

Bandyopadhyay, N., 03

Busset, Joël, 0F

Cadirola, Martin, 05

Cheong, J. S., 0O

Chochol, M., 0K

Ciurapinski, W., 07

David, J. P. R., 0O

Freund, R., 0H

Fuchs, Christian, 0H, 0I

Giggenbach, D., 0H

Gorwara, Ashok, 08

Heine, F., 0J

Herrero, Rolando, 05

Heutschi, Kurt, 0F

Ingle, Vinay K., 05

Karol, M., 07

Khivrich, Maria, 0A

Krysa, A. B., 0O

Kukaev, Alexander, 0A

Lacan, J., 0K

Lasfargues, G., 0N

Lu. Q. Y., 03

Lukyanov, Dmitry, 0A

Markowski, P., 07

Mata-Calvo, R., 0H

McArthur, Bruce A., 0E

Meyer, R., 0J

Molchanov, Pavlo, 08

Moll, Florian, 0I

Motzigemba, M., 0J

Ng, J. S., 0O

Nussbaumer, Thomas, 0F

Ott, Beat, 0F

Perlot, N., 0H

Perrodin, Florian, 0F

Philipp-May, S., 0J

Poliak, J., 0H

Razeghi, M., 03

Richter, T., 0H

Rissons, A., 0K

Rothman, J., 0N

Rühl, Torben, 0F

Seel, S., 0J

Shevchenko, Sergey, 0A

Shrestha, Amita, 0I

Slivken, S., 03

Szustakowski, M., 07

Telichkin, Roman, 0A

Tröndle, D., 0J

Vedrenne, N., 0K

Wellig, Peter, 0F

Zech, H., 0J

Zyczkowski, M., 07

Conference Committee

Symposium Chairs

  • David H. Titterton, UK Defense Academy (United Kingdom)

Symposium Co-chair

  • Reinhard Ebert, Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (Germany)

Part A: Unmanned/Unattended Sensors and Sensor Networks

Conference Chairs

  • Edward M. Carapezza, EMC Consulting LLC (United States)

  • Panos G. Datskos, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (United States)

  • Christos Tsamis, National Center for Scientific Research Demokritos (Greece)

Conference Program Committee

  • Mehdi F. Anwar, University of Connecticut (United States)

  • Mark E. Campbell, Cornell University (United States)

  • Pierre J. Corriveau, Naval Undersea Warfare Center (United States)

  • Sachi V. Desai, U.S. Army Armament Research, Development and Engineering Center (United States)

  • John M. Dolan, Carnegie Mellon University (United States)

  • Grant R. Gerhart, Consultant (United States)

  • Todd M. Hintz, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command (United States)

  • Myron E. Hohil, U.S. Army Armament Research, Development and Engineering Center (United States)

  • Ivan Kadar, Interlink Systems Sciences, Inc. (United States)

  • Tariq Manzur, Naval Undersea Warfare Center (United States)

  • George C. McNamara, Naval Undersea Warfare Center (United States)

  • Andre Samberg, Sec-Control Innovation (Finland)

  • Nino Srour, U.S. Army Research Laboratory (United States)

  • Huub A.J.M. van Hoof, TNO Defence, Security and Safety (Netherlands)

Part B: Advanced Free-Space Optical Communication Techniques and Applications

Conference Chairs

  • Leslie Laycock, BAE Systems (United Kingdom)

  • Henry J. White, BAE Systems (United Kingdom)

Conference Program Committee

  • G. Charmaine Gilbreath, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (United States)

  • Andrew R. Harvey, University of Glasgow (United Kingdom)

  • Florian Moll, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (Germany)

  • Dominic C. O’Brien, University of Oxford (United Kingdom)

  • Angélique Rissons, Institut Supérieur de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace (France)

  • Andrew M. Scott, QinetiQ Ltd. (United Kingdom)

  • Zoran Sodnik, European Space Research and Technology Center (Netherlands)

  • Ian Underwood, The University of Edinburgh (United Kingdom)

© (2015) COPYRIGHT Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Downloading of the abstract is permitted for personal use only.
} "Front Matter: Volume 9647", Proc. SPIE 9647, Unmanned/Unattended Sensors and Sensor Networks XI; and Advanced Free-Space Optical Communication Techniques and Applications, 964701 (2 November 2015); doi: 10.1117/12.2217596; https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2217596

Back to Top