Journal of Optical Microsystems
Editor-in-Chief: Hans Zappe, University of Freiburg, Germany

Welcome to JOM

The Journal of Optical Microsystems will publish cutting-edge research in all aspects of optical and photonic microsystems, from materials and fabrication of micro-optical and photonic components, through assembly and packaging, to systems and applications. Open access fees will be waived for all submissions through 2021.

Read more details in the press release.

Submissions are now being accepted.   

Journal Scope

JOM research areas of interest include but are not limited to:

Systems and applications

  • Biomedical, endoscopic and multimodal imaging
  • LIDAR and remote sensing
  • 2D, 3D and holographic displays and imaging
  • AR, VR and MR systems
  • Miniaturized confocal, OCT, Raman, and other microscopy systems
  • Portable and wearable medical diagnostics and health monitoring
  • Distributed sensing, environmental monitoring and quality control
  • Evaluation of systems and applications
  • Optical communications systems

Optical and photonic components and subsystems

  • Design and simulation of micro-optical components and systems
  • Refractive and diffractive micro-optics
  • Metasurfaces and metamaterials
  • Tunable lenses, filters, mirrors, and light emitters
  • Optofluidic devices and systems
  • Devices for beam shaping, steering and switching
  • Spectrometers, spectroscopic components and sensing systems
  • Wavefront modulators
  • Integrated photonic circuits and systems

Materials & fabrication for micro-optical components & systems

  • Semiconductors, polymers, liquids and glass
  • Micromachining, replication and MEMS processes
  • Additive and subtractive manufacturing
  • Hybrid assembly and integration
  • Micro- and nano-contact and roll-to-roll printing

Editorial Board


Hans Zappe, Univ. of Freiburg, Germany

Senior Editors:

Ki-Hun Jeong, KAIST, Republic of Korea
Harald Schenk, Fraunhofer Institute, Germany
Thomas Suleski, Univ. of North Carolina Charlotte, USA

Editorial Board Members:

Caglar Ataman, Univ. of Freiburg, Germany
David Dickensheets, Montana State Univ., USA
Stephen Kuebler, Univ. of Central Florida, USA
Chengkuo Lee, National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore
Sheng Shian Li, National Tsing Hua Univ., Taiwan
Moses Noh, Drexel Univ., USA
Niels Quack, EPFL, Switzerland
Stefan Richter, Zeiss, Germany
Anna Rissanen, Outsight, Finland
Stefan Sinzinger, Technische Univ. Ilmenau, Germany
Deepak Uttamchandani, Univ. of Strathclyde, UK
Wanjun Wang, Louisiana State Univ., USA

Back to Top